2019 Critic-in-Residence

Janka Vukmir is an art historian, art critic and curator based in Zagreb, Croatia. She is a Co-founder and a President of the Institute for Contemporary Art. Previously she was Director and Assistant Director of the SCCA – Zagreb, Soros Center for Contemporary Art. Prior to being engaged with the art organisations she worked independently as a curator of contemporary art and art critic in numerous printed and electronic media. All of her work has been dedicated to the independent art initiatives, organisations and artists so she was or is engaged in various capacities to many organizations such as being a Founder and a Coordinator of the Gallery Weekend Zagreb, Co-founder and organizer of Radoslav Putar Award, President of CIP – Croatian Independent Publishers, Executive director, ZGRAF 10, Member of the Executive Board of AICA Croatia, Board member of Expanded Media Gallery.

Her writing appeared in numerous solo and group exhibitions catalogues such as Venice Biennial, Croatian presentation (Martina Kramer); Documenta 10 guide(Slaven Tolj); Documenta 11 guide (Andreja Kulunčić); Radikale Bilder, 2. Fototriennale, Neue Galerie, Graz, Austria; After the Wall (Slaven Tolj), Moderna Museet, Stockholm, Sweden; Art is Not Allowed Here, Regensburg, Germany; Croatian Contemporary Art; Lalit Kala Akademi, National Academy of Art New Delhi; Tomislav Gotovac, Crises Anticipator, Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art, Rijeka, Croatia. Contributed with texts to various publications and books, most recently Breda’s Lesson, published by Trieste Contemporanea, Trieste, Italy, where she is also a Board member.

She is the author of the book Perceptual Art – Slaven Tolj, SCCA Zagreb, and editor of many other publications such as Group of Six, CD publication Anto Jerković (1958 – 2005), Dokumentacija (with Jelena Perić); Checkpoint, SCCA Zagreb; From Diaspora to Diversities, (editor and author), NGO Esperanza World Culture Center, (with: Robert Alagjozovski, Janka Vukmir, Miroslav Karić, Mirjana Peitler, Darka Radosavljević-Vasiljević).
She was Co-founder and Editor-in-Chief of the magazine Radionica (Workshop). With the Institute for Contemporary Art and she worked as a co-publisher (with the Institute of Art History, Zagreb) of the two-volume book Radoslav Putar: Kritike, studije, zapisi 1967 – 1987.; 2016/17, Zagreb.

Her curatorial work has been presented in Croatian and international galleries.

2019 Critic Emerita

Reena Jana leads global Product Inclusion efforts at Google, helping teams bring a wide variety of individual and community perspectives to product design and research and development. She also leads editorial strategy for PAIR, Google's People + AI Research initiative, which was founded by artists who work at the intersection of creativity and AI. Pre-Google, Reena was Innovation Dept. Editor at Businessweek, executive editor at frog design; and Narrative Strategy Lead at IBM, where she also served as a product owner; and in her previous career, a contributor to a variety of art publications, including Artforum, ArtNews, Asian Art News, Art and Auction, Art on Paper, Flash Art and many others. She's the co-author, with Mark Tribe, of New Media Art (Taschen, 2006) and was a National Arts Journalism Program Fellow at Columbia Journalism School. Currently, she serves as a Mentor at New Inc., the tech startup incubator run by the New Museum.

Past Critics-in-Residence
2018 Ugochukwu-Smooth C. Nzewi
2017 Larry Ossei-Mensah
2016 Branko Franceschi
2015 Sylvie Fortin
2014 Moukhtar Kocache
2013 Charlotta Kotik
2012 Saul Ostrow
2011 Sara Reisman
2010 Sandra Skurvida
2009 Frances Richard, Critic Emerita 2017
2008 Martha Schwendener
2008 Micaela Giovannotti
2007 Omar Lopez Chahoud
2006 Kóan Jeff Baysa, Critic Emeritus 2011
2005 Reena Jana
2004 Olu Oguibe
2003 Euridice Arratia
2002 Yu Yeon Kim
2001 Christian Viveros-Fauné
2000 Denise Carvalho, Critic Emerita 2012
1999 Dominique Nahas, Critic Emeritus 2013
1998 Franklin Sirmans
1997 Lilly Wei, Critic Emerita 2014
1996 Gregory Volk, Critic Emeritus 2015
1995 Carlos Basualdo
1994 Dan Cameron
1993 Raphael Rubinstein, Critic Emeritus 2018
1992 Robert C. Morgan, Critic Emeritus 2016

Explore Further